Transfer files to a different user with a team

There are several different ways to transfer documents between users.

Option 1: Delete the original user

  1. Login to the Admin account.
  2. Go to the Team page.
  3. Click on the "Users" tile.
  4. Search for the names of the employees to be deleted and check their boxes. Note: You must be an Account Owner or Team Admin to delete a user from a team.
  5. Under "actions" click "delete user." You'll be asked to transfer the files to a different account and confirm that you understand.
  6. You'll be asked to transfer the files to a different account and confirm that you understand. 
  7. Once the file is imported successfully, you will see a folder in your new account that contains all of the documents of the old account called 'restore from [email]' with the date.

Option 2: Delicense the original user

  1. Login to the Admin account.
  2. Go to the Team page.
  3. Click on the "Users" tile.
  4. Search for the names of the employees to be deleted and check their boxes. Note: You must be an Account Owner or Team Admin to delicense a user from a team.
  5. Under "actions" click "edit licenses." Remove the license from the user and click 'confirm'.
  6. You'll be asked to transfer the files to a different account and confirm that you understand. 
  7. Once the file is imported successfully, you will see a folder in your new account that contains all of the documents of the old account called 'restore from [email]' with the date.

Option 3: Email support to transfer ownership

If you do not wish to delete or delicense the original user, support can help with changing document ownership.